top of page
Search

Elevator Pitches and Interviewing: A Student’s Reflection


By: Mae Mou

October 2, 2016


Attending the workshop this past Tuesday allowed me to gain more than what I hoped for when I walked into Professor Bluestein’s seminar during my weekly PRSSA meeting. As a new member to the start of the 2016 fall semester, I was ecstatic about getting to gain hands on knowledge about how to give an “Elevator Pitch” to a potential employer or client. This was a two-hour workshop that consisted of a presentation from Bluestein who went over the importance of having the right “shu-pill” to say about yourself and how crucial it is to practice it every day.

The three key questions that I learned to ask myself from this workshop were: “Who am I, what do I offer, and what am I looking for?” The key during an interview is to tailor the pitch to “them” and not yourself. Mentioning your strengths while including adjectives that describe who you are, and answering the question “what’s in it for me?” will definitely help you stand out as an applicant in any field, not just public relations.

Not only did I get to sharpen my skills in elevator pitching, but I also had the chance to gain more insight on what to do in a job interview, and what not to do. It is easy to go into an interview unprepared and “wing it” if you’re an outspoken and confident person who doesn’t get intimidated easily. Unfortunately, I am not one of those people who show up to professional situations, such as an interview, without physically and mentally preparing myself. The workshop also helped me understand that it is important to know who you are applying for and research the person who will be interviewing you. Getting to the interview early shows that you have commitment and know how to prioritize.

Lastly, do not leave an interview without writing a “Thank You” note to the employer right after the interview. It will show them you are passionate about the job offer. It is also important to not fall in the trap of saying “I don’t have any questions,” when being asked near the end of the interview if you have any questions or comments. Asking questions shows that you care about applying for this job just as much as they care about hiring you. The key thing to remember is that you are interviewing the employer too.

25 views

Recent Posts

See All

Hard Work Makes the Dream Work with Jane Platt

By Emily Regala On May 6, 2020, CSUN PRSSA had the privilege of speaking with the Internal Communications manager of NASA ( National Aeronautics and Space Administration) , JPL (Jet Propulsion Lab), J

Making Her Mark in PR

By Irma Negrete On Wednesday, April 29, PRSSA had the pleasure of hosting guest speaker Shawn Smith, Director of Worldwide Public Relations for Warner Bros. Consumer Products. Shawn spoke to us about

bottom of page